Over and Out (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Over and Out By Jenni L. Walsh Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
4 on hand, as of Aug 17 12:33am
(Children 9-12)

Staff Reviews


"Sophie lives with her mom in East Berlin where citizens are routinely watched and freedoms are not plenty.  After finding out that she has family in West Berlin, Sophie tries to plan her escape. 

This page-turner is an AWESOME historical fiction novel!    And the author is in Bucks County!!"

— From Kathy's Staff Picks

Description


Perfect for fans of Alan Gratz and Jennifer A. Nielsen, a gripping and accessible story of a young girl from Cold War East Berlin who is forced to spy for the secret police... but is determined to escape to freedom.

Sophie has spent her entire life behind the Berlin Wall, guarded by land mines, towers, and attack dogs. A science lover, Sophie dreams of becoming an inventor... but that's unlikely in East Berlin, where the Stasi, the secret police, are always watching.

Though she tries to avoid their notice, when her beloved neighbor is arrested, Sophie is called to her principal's office. There, a young Stasi officer asks Sophie if she'll spy on her neighbor after she is released. Sophie doesn't want to agree, but in reality has no choice: The Stasi threaten to bring her mother, who has a disability from post-polio syndrome, to an institution if Sophie does not comply.

Sophie is backed into a corner, until she finds out, for the first time, that she has family on the other side of the Wall, in the West. This could be what she needs to attempt an escape with her mother to freedom -- if she can invent her way out.

Jenni L. Walsh, author of I Am Defiance, tells a page-turning story of a young girl taking charge of her own destiny, and helping others do the same, in the face of oppression.

"Filled with adrenaline-inducing action and inspired by true stories, this novel evokes the perils of life in East Berlin and the risks some took in search of something better. The ingenuity Sophie and Katarina display in overcoming obstacles is compelling, and the no-win situation Sophie finds herself in rings painfully true. Page-turning action and dangerous intrigue fuel this Cold War-era novel." -- Kirkus Reviews

About the Author


Jenni L. Walsh's passion lies in transporting readers to another world, be it in historical or contemporary settings. She is a proud graduate of Villanova University, and lives in the Philadelphia suburbs with her husband, daughter, son, and newfypoo. She also writes historical fiction for adults and children. Learn more about Jenni and her books at jennilwalsh.com.

Praise For…


Praise for Over and Out:

A Junior Library Guild selection

"Filled with adrenaline-inducing action and inspired by true stories, this novel evokes the perils of life in East Berlin and the risks some took in search of something better. The ingenuity Sophie and Katarina display in overcoming obstacles is compelling, and the no-win situation Sophie finds herself in rings painfully true. Page-turning action and dangerous intrigue fuel this Cold War-era novel." -- Kirkus Reviews

Praise for I Am Defiance:

"A compelling read that asks, what would you risk to defy the Nazis?" -- Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch, author of Making Bombs for Hitler

"As vivid as it is harrowing, this is a powerful if not essential story." -- Yona Zeldis McDonough, author of The Bicycle Spy and Courageous

Praise for She Dared: Bethany Hamilton:

"An inspiration to readers... Recommended." -- School Library Connection

"Many of the passages are powerful, depicting the drama of Hamilton's experiences and demonstrating the impact of her Christian faith, her mental toughness, and her family's support." -- School Library Journal

"While engaging text puts readers in the life-or-death moment, the book focuses more on Bethany's recovery... [an] inspirational journey." -- Booklist

Praise for She Dared: Malala Yousafzai:

"Accessible for independent readers, including younger students looking for more challenging material. Walsh tackles difficult subject matter, such as extremism and violence, in an age-appropriate manner." -- School Library Journal



Praise for I Am Defiance:

"A compelling read that asks, what would you risk to defy the Nazis?" -- Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch, author of Making Bombs for Hitler

"As vivid as it is harrowing, this is a powerful if not essential story." -- Yona Zeldis McDonough, author of The Bicycle Spy and Courageous

Praise for She Dared: Bethany Hamilton:

"An inspiration to readers... Recommended." -- School Library Connection

"Many of the passages are powerful, depicting the drama of Hamilton's experiences and demonstrating the impact of her Christian faith, her mental toughness, and her family's support." -- School Library Journal

"While engaging text puts readers in the life-or-death moment, the book focuses more on Bethany's recovery... [an] inspirational journey." -- Booklist

Praise for She Dared: Malala Yousafzai:

"Accessible for independent readers, including younger students looking for more challenging material. Walsh tackles difficult subject matter, such as extremism and violence, in an age-appropriate manner." -- School Library Journal

Product Details
ISBN: 9781338775785
ISBN-10: 1338775782
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: March 1st, 2022
Pages: 352
Language: English