You are here

James Riley to Visit Area Schools!

kmorrison37's picture
Submitted by kmorrison37 on Tue, 02/05/2019 - 8:25pm

The Newtown Bookshop is proud to announce that James Riley will be visiting area schools on March 11th during the school day!    James will be featuring his new book "The Revenge of Magic"!   If you would like a signed copy of any of James's books, please call the Newtown Bookshop at 215-968-2400 or order below, please add comments to how the book should be personalized.

ABOUT THE BOOK

Thirteen years ago, books of magic were discovered in various sites around the world alongside the bones of dragons. Only those born after “Discovery Day” have the power to use the magic.

Now, on a vacation to Washington, DC, Fort Fitzgerald’s father is lost when a giant creature bursts through the earth, attacking the city. Fort is devastated, until an opportunity for justice arrives six months later, when a man named Dr. Opps invites Fort to a government run school, the Oppenheimer School, to learn magic from those same books.

But life’s no easier at the school, where secrets abound. What does Jia, Fort’s tutor, know about the attacks? Why does Rachel, master of destructive magic, think Fort is out to destroy the school? And why is Fort seeing memories of an expelled girl every time he goes to sleep? If Fort doesn’t find out what’s hiding within the Oppenheimer School, more attacks will come, and this time… nothing will stop them.

Perfect for fans of Stranger Things and Dungeons and Dragons, THE REVENGE OF MAGIC combines mystery with myth to create a non-stop adventure that is unputdownable!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

JAMES RILEY lives in Virginia. He is the author of Half Upon a TimeTwice Upon a Time, and Once Upon the End as well as the Story Thieves series. Visit him online at james-riley-author.tumblr.com or on Twitter @_JamesRiley_.

Event date: 
Monday, March 11, 2019 - 9:00am
Event address: 
2835 South Eagle Road
Newtown, PA 18940
The Revenge of Magic Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481485777
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin - March 5th, 2019

“This imaginative and exciting story feels like the start of something big.


Story Thieves Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481409209
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin - December 15th, 2015

This “clever opener likely to leave readers breathless both with laughter and anticipation” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) is the first in the New York Times bestselling series from the author of the Half Upon a Time trilogy.

Life is boring when you live in the real world, instead of starring in your own book series.


The Stolen Chapters (Story Thieves #2) Cover Image
By James Riley, Chris Eliopoulos (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9781481409230
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin - December 13th, 2016

Owen, Kiel, and Bethany confront secrets, stolen memories, and some very familiar faces in the second book in the New York Times bestselling series, Story Thieveswhich was called a “fast-paced, action-packed tale” by School Library Journal—from the author of the Half Upon a Time trilogy.

Owen Conners’s whole life changed the day he found o


Secret Origins (Story Thieves #3) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481461269
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin - September 26th, 2017

Bethany travels to a new fictional world to rescue her father in this third book in the New York Times bestselling series, Story Thieveswhich was called a “fast-paced, action-packed tale” by School Library Journal—from the author of the Half Upon a Time trilogy.

Owen and Bethany have sworn off jumping into books for good.


Pick the Plot (Story Thieves #4) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781481461290
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin - March 20th, 2018

Readers choose what happens when Owen finds himself stuck in a Pick Your Own Plot story, in this fourth book in the New York Times bestselling series, Story Thieveswhich was called a “fast-paced, action-packed tale” by School Library Journal—from the author of the Half Upon a Time trilogy.

Being able to jump into books used to seem like the grea


Worlds Apart (Story Thieves #5) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781481485753
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin - March 5th, 2019

Owen and Bethany try to find their way back to each other after the fictional and nonfictional worlds are torn apart in this fifth and final book in the New York Times bestselling series, Story Thieveswhich was called a “fast-paced, action-packed tale” by School Library Journal—from the author of the Half Upon a Time trilogy.

Bethany and


Half Upon a Time Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781416995944
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin - September 13th, 2011

Jack lives in a fantasy world. Really. He's the son of the infamous Jack who stole the magic beans from the giant, and he's working hard to restore his family's reputation. He finds the perfect opportunity when a "princess" lands in front of him, apparently from the land of Punk, as her Punk Princess sweatshirt implies.