You are here

POSTPONED An Afternoon with Margaret Peterson Haddix!

kmorrison37's picture
Submitted by kmorrison37 on Wed, 01/29/2020 - 4:57pm

Please join the Newtown Bookshop as we welcome New York Times Bestselling Children's author, Margaret Peterson Haddix on April 7th at 5:00pm!   Margaret Peterson Haddix will be talking about her new book, "Greystone Series 2: The Deceivers", answering questions and signing books!  All are invited to join us!   

THE EVENT HAS BEEN POSTPONED, CHECK BACK FOR A DATE LATER IN THE YEAR!

Please order Margaret's books below

ABOUT THE BOOK

The second book in the Greystone Secrets series from the master of plot twists, Margaret Peterson Haddix—perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time and The City of Ember!

Until their mother vanished, the Greystone kids—Chess, Emma, and Finn—knew nothing about the other world.

Everything is different there. It’s a mirror image, except things are wrong. Evil. Their mother tried to fix it, but she and an ally got trapped there along with Ms. Morales, their friend Natalie’s mom.

Now the four kids—brave Chess, smart Emma, kind Finn, and savvy Natalie—are determined to rescue everyone.

To do so, they have to go back: into the other world, where even telling the truth can be illegal.

But in such a terrifying place, Chess doubts he can ever be brave enough. Despite all her brains, Emma can’t seem to break the code. With everything spiraling out of control, Finn has to pretend he’s okay.

And for Natalie, the lies of the other world include some she wishes were actually true. What if she’s gotten so used to lying she no longer knows what to believe?

The second book in the Greystone Secrets series, The Deceivers, by bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix, continues the twisty and suspenseful story of the Greystone kids and examines the power of the truth—or a lie—to alter lives, society, and even an entire reality.

Praise for Greystone Secrets #1: The Strangers

*Winter 2018-2019 Kids' Indie Next List Pick*

“A secret-stacked, thrilling series opener.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“An engrossing mystery with a cliff-hanger ending to raise the stakes and delight fans new and old.” —Booklist

“Maintains suspense from the beginning to the cliffhanger ending. A high-stakes adventure full of teamwork with a multifaceted mystery and complex themes.” —Kirkus Reviews

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Margaret Peterson Haddix grew up on a farm near Washington Court House, Ohio. She graduated from Miami University (of Ohio) with degrees in English/journalism, English/creative writing and history. Before her first book was published, she worked as a newspaper copy editor in Fort Wayne, Indiana; a newspaper reporter in Indianapolis; and a community college instructor and freelance writer in Danville, Illinois.

She has since written more than 40 books for kids and teens, including Running Out of TimeDouble Identity; Uprising; The Always War; the Greystone Secrets series; the Shadow Children series; the Missing series; the Children of Exile series; the Under Their Skin duologyand The Palace Chronicles. She also wrote Into the Gauntlet, the tenth book in the 39 Clues series.  Her books have been honored with New York Times bestseller status, the International Reading Association’s Children’s Book Award; American Library Association Best Book and Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers notations; and numerous state reader’s choice awards. They have also been translated into more than twenty different languages.

Haddix and her husband, Doug, now live in Columbus, Ohio. They are the parents of two grown kids.

Event date: 
Tuesday, April 7, 2020 - 5:00pm
Event address: 
2835 South Eagle Road
Newtown, PA 18940
Greystone Secrets #2: The Deceivers Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062838407
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - April 7th, 2020

The second book in the Greystone Secrets series from the master of plot twists, Margaret Peterson Haddix—perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time and The City of EmberThis middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling.


Greystone Secrets #1: The Strangers Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780062838384
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - March 3rd, 2020

New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix takes readers on a thrilling adventure filled with mysteries and plot twists aplenty in this absorbing series about family and friendships.


Remarkables Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062838469
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 24th, 2019

New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix, the master of cliffhangers, delivers a pulse-pounding mystery perfect for fans of Jacqueline West and Kat Yeh, full of secrets, surprises, and the power of family.


Among the Hidden (Shadow Children #1) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780689824753
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 1st, 2000

In a future where the Population Police enforce the law limiting a family to only two children, Luke, an illegal third child, has lived all his twelve years in isolation and fear on his family's farm in this start to the Shadow Children series from Margaret Peterson Haddix.

Luke has never been to school. He's never had a birthday party, or gone to a friend's house for an overnight.


Found (The Missing #1) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781416954217
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - April 21st, 2009

Jonah knows that he's adopted, but he doesn't know that the past and history itself will depend on him more than he ever thought possible in this first book in Margaret Peterson Haddix's New York Times bestselling The Missing series.

One night a plane appeared out of nowhere, the only passengers aboard: thirty-six babies. As soon as they were taken off the plane, it vanished.