You are here

Staff Picks

Newtown Bookshop Staff Picks

Visit the Store for a Bigger Selection of our Staff Picks

 

Staff Pick Logo
The Summer Wives: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062660343
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow - July 10th, 2018


Where the Crawdads Sing Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735219090
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - August 14th, 2018

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


On Desperate Ground: The Marines at The Reservoir, the Korean War's Greatest Battle Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780385541152
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday - October 2nd, 2018

"Superb...A masterpiece of thorough research, deft pacing and arresting detail...This war story — the fight to break out of a frozen hell near the Chosin Reservoir — has been told many times before. But Sides tells it exceedingly well, with fresh research, gritty scenes and cinematic sweep."—Washington Post


The Hate U Give Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062498533
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 28th, 2017

8 starred reviews ∙ Goodreads Choice Awards Best of the Best  ∙  William C. Morris Award Winner ∙ National Book Award Longlist ∙ Printz Honor Book ∙ Coretta Scott King Honor Book ∙ #1 New York Times Bestseller!

"Absolutely riveting!" —Jason Reynolds


An Absolutely Remarkable Thing: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781524743444
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton - September 25th, 2018

THE INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“Sparkling with mystery, humor and the uncanny, this is a fun read. But beneath its effervescent tone, more complex themes are at play.” —San Francisco Chronicle


A Place for Us: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781524763558
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: SJP for Hogarth - June 12th, 2018

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NEW YORK’S “ONE BOOK, ONE NEW YORK” PICK

Named One of the Best Books of 2018 by: Washington Post • NPR People  Refinery29 • Parade • Buzzfeed


Baby Teeth: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250170750
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - July 17th, 2018

One of Entertainment Weekly’s Must-Read Books for July | People Magazine's Book of the Week | One of Bustle's "Fifteen Books With Chilling Protagonists That Will Keep You Guessing" | One of PopSugar's "25 Must-Read Books That Will Make July Fly By!" | One of the "Biggest Thrillers of the Summer"SheReads | A Barnes and Noble Blog Best T


Calypso Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316392389
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown and Company - May 29th, 2018

David Sedaris returns with his most deeply personal and darkly hilarious book.

If you've ever laughed your way through David Sedaris's cheerfully misanthropic stories, you might think you know what you're getting with Calypso. You'd be wrong.


Sea Prayer Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780525539094
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - September 18th, 2018

NEW YORK TIMES bestseller

An illustrated book on the refugee crisis that will break your heart in under 48 pages, from the #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Kite RunnerA Thousand Splendid Suns, and And the Mountains EchoedA meaningful read to gift this holiday season.


Us Against You: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781501160790
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - June 5th, 2018

Instant New York Times Bestseller! The author of A Man Called Ove returns with “a lyrical look at how a community heals, how families recover, and how individuals grow” (The Washington Post).

“Fans of Backman will not be disappointed.


Closer Than You Know: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101985632
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton - February 12th, 2019

A riveting, emotionally powerful stand-alone domestic suspense thriller perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door and What She Knew.

Disaster, Melanie Barrick was once told, is always closer than you know.


Class Mom: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250192561
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - July 24th, 2018

Laurie Gelman’s clever debut novel about a year in the life of a kindergarten class mom—a brilliant send-up of the petty and surprisingly cutthroat terrain of parent politics.


The Death of Mrs. Westaway Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781501156212
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - May 29th, 2018

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of In a Dark, Dark Wood, The Woman in Cabin 10, and The Lying Game comes Ruth Ware’s fourth novel, “her best yet” (Library Journal, starred review).

On a day that begins like any other, Hal receives a mysterious letter bequeathing


Desolation Mountain: A Novel (Cork O'Connor Mystery Series #17) Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501147463
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - August 21st, 2018

New York Times bestselling author William Kent Krueger delivers yet another “punch-to-the-gut blend of detective story and investigative fiction” (Booklist, starred review) as Cork O’Connor and his son Stephen work together to uncover the truth behind the tragic plane crash of a senator on Desolation Mountain and the mysterious disappearances of several first res


Lilli de Jong: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780525563327
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor - July 10th, 2018

Library Journal Best Historical Fiction 2017

“A powerful, authentic voice for a generation of women whose struggles were erased from history—a heart-smashing debut that completely satisfies.”
—Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet


Family Trust: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062855251
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow - October 30th, 2018

NAMED ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF THE FALL BY

The Washington Post • Elle.com Buzzfeed Entertainment Weekly • Bustle The Globe and Mail • Apartment Therapy • Town & Country • Harper's Bazaar


Kingdom of the Blind: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250066206
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - November 27th, 2018

INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
A December 2018 Indie Next Pick
One of Kirkus Reviews' Best of 2018 Picks
BookPage Best of the Year 2018
A LibraryReads Pick for November 2018
A LibraryReads Hall of Fame Winner
Washington Post's 10 Books to Read This November


The Anomaly Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781538761854
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grand Central Publishing - June 19th, 2018

INDIANA JONES MEETS THE X-FILES IN THIS "TAKE NO PRISONERS' (PRESTON & CHILD) SURVIVAL THRILLER OF A ROGUE ARCHAELOGIST TRAPPED IN A GRAND CANYON CAVE THAT'S A CONSPIRACY THEORY COME TO LIFE.

Not all secrets are meant to be found.


She Would Be King: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781555978174
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graywolf Press - September 11th, 2018

A novel of exhilarating range, magical realism, and history—a dazzling retelling of Liberia’s formation


Vox Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780440000785
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - August 21st, 2018

NATIONAL BESTSELLER
ONE OF ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY'S AND SHEREADS' BOOKS TO READ AFTER THE HANDMAID'S TALE
"[An] electrifying debut."--O, The Oprah Magazine *
"The real-life parallels will make you shiver."--Cosmopolitan


Varina: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062405982
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ecco - April 3rd, 2018

Sooner or later, history asks, which side were you on?

In his powerful new novel, Charles Frazier returns to the time and place of Cold Mountain, vividly bringing to life the chaos and devastation of the Civil War